A Little Bit About Me

Home Page


About Me

My 'Bishop' Ancestors

Families I am Looking for...

Other 'Bishops'...about

..The details

My Tree

Ellen's Tree

Genealogy Links

Family Photos:



Camping in France







So, what can I say.  I've already told you my name is Nick  (Nicholas actually, but I prefer the shortened version).  

I was born in 1951. My parents (that's them on my home page) were living in Blackheath, London at the time, but due to a shortage of beds in the local hospital  (some things never change do they?), I was born in Paddock Wood in Kent - the Garden of England.

We moved to Croesyceiliog in Gwent, and stayed there until I was 10. While we were there, my sister - Sara - was born. After that we moved to Hemel Hempstead in Hertfordshire, and that is the place I have most memories of, and consider my home town.

Whilst in Hemel, I went to the Cavendish Technical Grammar school where, despite all the efforts of a wonderful team of teachers, I left before doing any A levels. I joined the GPO (General Post Office) as it was in those days (BT now), and did a 3 year apprenticeship as a Telephone Engineer. I spent another year and a half there, and then joined IBM in 1972 where I have been ever since.

I started with IBM as a Customer Engineer in London, moved on to do a little teaching, then transferred to the Laboratories in Hursley just outside Winchester, where I worked on testing disk storage devices and then mainframe and PC graphics software. Today, I am Business Coordinator for an internal organisation that deploys and maintains the core infrastructure for IBM in Europe.

I have been married to Gaye for 20 years this year (2003), and have 2 daughters -  Katie, who was born in 1991, and Emma, who was born in 1994.  We live just outside Southampton in the south of England, and share our house with a rabbit, guinea pig and cat. We enjoy camping in France during the summer holidays, and you can find more about that on the Camping page.



© Copyright - Nick Bishop 2003

All Rights Reserved